Baby Reece’s Kangaroo Quilt

I am in that age group where it seems like everybody I know is either pregnant or has a child under the age of five. I always have good intentions of finishing the gifts before the baby is born. So far, however, I’m pretty sure I’ve only managed to do it twice. Maybe three times. Oh well, better late than never?

I have been working on this quilt and one other for more than four months now… whoops. I stayed home from work sick today. Since standing up and moving was proving to be kind of difficult, I decided to take advantage of the downtime to hand sew the binding and finish it up.
Kangaroo quilt

The kangaroos are done in raw edge applique, using Lite Steam a Seam for the initial placement.
Kangaroo applique

A closeup of the face; the eyes are embroidered.
Joey closeup

One thing checked off of the list. The kangaroos are heading to the post office tomorrow! Now to sew the binding on the other one…

4 thoughts on “Baby Reece’s Kangaroo Quilt

      • Hi! Thanks for the comment.
        I don’t actually have a pattern for this one. It was inspired by a block on an applique quilt I saw in an old book (if 1978 is old). I sketched it out on a big piece of brown wrapping paper, then cut out the pieces. The book is called “The Big Book of Applique” by Virginia Avery. The quilt is called… “Animal Quilt” (clever) by Susie Montgomery. The book is narrative and technique-based, rather than containing patterns. You might be able to find a used copy of it on Amazon or eBay. Good luck!

  1. Hi Kim,
    Thanks so much for the reply. My daughter-in-law is expecting her first child and her theme is Kangaroos and Joey. I will attempt to make her this quilt. Thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

