Eggplant Parmesan

Tomato sauce, bread crumbs, parmesan, mozzarella… Who are we kidding? Those are the best parts about eggplant parmesan.

I recently had a couple of small eggplants from the farmers’ market in my fridge, and a log of mozzarella that was nearing the end of its useful life, so I decided to put together my go-to recipe for eggplant parmesan.

I didn’t have enough sauce on hand to follow Martha’s recipe this time, and I wasn’t feeling inclined to grate my fresh mozzarella, so I did things a little differently.

I breaded and baked the eggplant slices, as usual.
eggplant 1

I spooned about half a cup of sauce into the bottom of a baking dish, just enough to coat the bottom. Then I added a layer of eggplant, topping each one with some fresh basil (this is opal basil, I think… I have five different types in the garden this year).
eggplant 2

I then added a slice of mozzarella, another piece of eggplant, more mozzarella, and another basil leaf.
eggplant 3

Each stack then got a healthy spoonful or two of sauce, before sticking the pan in the oven for the final bake.
eggplant 4

The “after” photo isn’t very pretty, so I’ll spare you. Rest assured though, that it was very tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

