Random Food Things

Food is sort of an occupational hazard for me. I am around food nearly every day, whether I’m observing it, writing about it, reading about it, listening to people talk about it… I never eat it though – at least not at work.

Being around food all the time, I’ve become somewhat obsessed with it. Or, rather, it’s become a very natural hobby for me. I figure if I’m supposed to be telling people how to handle their food, I should have an idea of how to do it myself.

I at my mom’s side in the kitchen at a very young age. When I begged for an EZ Bake Oven, she rolled her eyes and told me to just use the real oven. I remember obsessively reading ingredient lists and menus and cookbooks as a kid. This was probably kind of weird, but then again, I was kind of a weird kid.

As I get older, I have started to rely less on cookbooks and recipes, instead trusting my instincts as far as “what would go well with this?” I usually follow new recipes as written at least once, but I have started to see them as guidelines, rather than rules.

A sampling of some of the things we’ve made over the last year or so:

Tortellini with roasted brussels sprouts, mushrooms, onion, bacon, and gorgonzola
cheese tortellini with roasted brussels sprouts, mushrooms, onions, and gorgonzola


Oven-Roasted Dungeness Crab

dungeness crab with orange chile sauce

Grilled baby beets with rosemary & thyme
IMG_3998

Strawberry marscapone tartlets with blueberry-strawberry jam
IMG_3972

Moules Mariniere
IMG_3823

Grilled pizza with proscuitto, peaches, basil, and mozzarella
proscuitto peach pizza compressed

Jamie Oliver’s Proper Chicken Caesar Salad
proper chicken caesar compressed

Curried squash soup with sage and browned butter
squash soup compressed

A good ol’ fashioned steak salad
steak salad compressed

Okay, now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

