Pumpkin in a Cherry Tree

Another weekend, another baby shower, another baby quilt…

pumpkin in cherry tree

This one ranks right up there as one of my favorites so far. Honestly I love them all, but I love how this one came together.

The mother is Japanese, and the baby (currently being referred to as “Pumpkin”) is a girl, so when I saw this pattern my adrenaline level spiked a little bit. I was determined to incorporate it into the finished product.

I finished the embroidery several weeks ago, and then my life got incredibly busy and I completely abandoned the project.

With a week (yes, one week) to go before the shower, I figured I should get cracking on the rest of the quilt. I didn’t want to detract from the embroidered panel, so I opted to just frame it using a log cabin-style pattern.

IMG_5073compressed

I was using scraps from my stash, so as I progressed and the framing pieces got larger, I started running out of fabric. I improvised and made half frames for some of the layers.

For the backing, I used a gorgeous Anna Maria Horner print from her Innocent Crush line.
IMG_5077compressed

For the quilting, I just echoed the frame lines with straight stitching.

I was seriously, seriously running out of time when it was time for the binding, so I used purchased double-fold bias tape.

I think one of the reasons I love this one so much is that it was created without a plan, under pressure, required A LOT of improvising, and has more unintentional “spirit beads” than I care to think about. But despite all that, it turned out beautiful (if I do say so myself).

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin in a Cherry Tree

  1. I love this one! Seriously, you are so talented!! I wish I had the time an patience to learn to quilt.

Leave a Reply

