A Bucket of Dirt… and Hopefully Strawberries

Last weekend, one of the vendors at the Farmers Market was selling these cute waxed canvas bags with strawberry plants in them.

I kept wandering back to them, debating whether the $18 price tag was worth it for me. I am sure that considering the materials, the time the vendor spent making them, the cost of growing the strawberries, etc., that $18 was more than a fair price. But with my giant stash of fabric at home, I couldn’t bring myself to buy one.

I did buy three small plants though (the 8 yr old girl hawking them had me at “3 for $5!”)… and figured I would take my chances.

I didn’t use a pattern. I didn’t measure. I didn’t pin. It is very crude, but here it is nonetheless 🙂

IMG_5082

I dug through my stash and found some home decor-weight fabric that I bought ages ago. I traced the bottom of my wastepaper basket, then Googled how to find the circumference of a circle. Yes, I admit that I have forgotten how to do basic geometry. Don’t tell my college roommate Jen or she will never let me live it down.

From there, I just cut a rectangle the length of the circumference, then eyeballed the rest of it. I doubled the fabric for the sides to give it a little bit of rigidity without lining it or using interfacing. Honestly, this is one of the laziest projects I have ever done.

I added a strap…
IMG_5083

Then I cut the bottom out of a plastic bag, stuffed it inside of the fabric bag (to keep some moisture in, but still allow water to drain out), and filled it with potting soil and compost…
IMG_5084

And then I added the plants!
IMG_5087

Who knows if this will end up working or not, but I figure for $5 and less than an hour of my time (not to mention using up some of my fabric stash), it will be fun if it does!
IMG_5089

Leave a Reply

