You should make this.

image

Red Curry Coconut Mussels and Cambodian Grapefruit Salad

The curried mussels recipe makes way more sauce than you need for 2 pounds of mussels, so I usually pour off about half before adding the mussels. I freeze the reserved portion for a quick curry another day. I use the entire can of red curry (instead of the half can called for). It’s spicy, but not painfully so. The heavy cream was a surprising ingredient, but I have made this a dozen times – once subbing extra coconut milk for the cream – and it really is better with it. Make sure to use coconut milk that doesn’t have extra thickeners, or the final product will end up strangely slimy.

The grapefruit salad… wow. Amazingly good. I can’t wait to make it this summer, to be eaten ice cold on a hot day. I added a diced avocado, and served without extra greens. I didn’t have a red chile, so I added a big spoonful of garlic-chile paste to the dressing. Also, I only had sweetened coconut and dry roasted peanuts on hand, so I just toasted them both together in a skillet, watching closely so they didn’t burn.

Leave a Reply

